Salk Home | Faculty | Laboratories
Chory Lab > Personnel

Lab Members






Video Credit: Yvon Jaillais
Joanne Chory

Joanne Chory, PhD
Professor, HHMI Investigator
Howard H. and Maryam Newman Chair
chory@salk.edu

I joined the Salk in 1988 and have been an HHMI Investigator for the past 17 years. I am also an Adjunct Professor in the Biology Dept. at UCSD. During this time more than 100 students and postdocs have trained in my lab and most remain in academic science.
Ryan Lister

Lynn Artale
Lab Administrative Coordinator
artale@salk.edu

 
Junshi Yazaki

Jack Bolado
Lab Manager
bolado@salk.edu

 
Marco Burger Marco Burger
Postdoc
mburger@salk.edu
I received my PhD from the Max Planck Society in 2012 and joined the Chory lab in 2013. I am a fellow of the German Research Foundation (DFG). I am studying the role of transcription factors within the brassinosteroid (BR) signaling pathway with special emphasis on the biochemical and structural characterization of BZR1 and BES1 as well as their interaction with DNA.
Yogev Burko Yogev Burko
Postdoc
yburko@salk.edu
I received my PhD in The Hebrew University of Jerusalem / 2013 and joined the Chory lab in 12/2013. I am a BARD and EMBO Fellow. I am studying Tissue specific light response during Arabidopsis de-etiolation. My special emphasis is to dissect the differences in light response signal between cotyledon and hypocotyl during de-etiolation.
Lara Calil Lara Calil
Exchange Student
lcalil@salk.edu
 
Amelie Champe Amelie Champe
Exchange Scholar
achampe@salk.edu
 
Kat Chang Tsegaye Dabi
Research Assistant II
dabi@salk.edu
 
Alex de Saint Germain Alexandre de Saint Germain
Postdoc
desaintgermain@salk.edu
 
Javier Gallego Javier Gallego
Postdoc
jgallego@salk.edu
 
Joanathan Gilkerson Joanathan Gilkerson
Postdoc
jgilkerson@salk.edu
I received my PhD in Plant Biology from UC-Davis and joined the Chory lab in 2011. I am an NIH Postdoc Fellow. I am studying the role of a signaling peptide, RALF, in plant cell elongation.
Meng Hao Meng Hao
Volunteer
mhao@salk.edu
 
Jonathan Hetzel Jonathan Hetzel
Graduate Student
jhetzel@salk.edu
I am a graduate student in the Division of Biological Sciences at the University of California, San Diego. I earned my B.S. in Molecular Biology at Harvey Mudd College while studying the molecular motor dynein and after graduation worked as a technician at UCLA studying DNA methylation with Steve Jacobsen. I joined the Chory lab in June of 2011 and am currently studying Brasinosteroid Signaling in Arabidopsis.
Jianyan Huang Jianyan Huang
Postdoc
jyhuang@salk.edu
I received my PhD from the Huazhong Agricultural University of China in June, 2012 and joined the Chory lab in October, 2013. I am studying the effect of high light on plant growth and development. My special emphasis is the molecular mechanism of how plant acclimate to high light stress.
Erin Lee Erin Lee
Lab Assistant
elee@salk.edu
 
Kevin Li Kevin Li
Lab Assistant
kli@salk.edu
 
Ullas Pedmanle Ullas Pedmale, PhD
Postdoc
upedmale@salk.edu
I earned my PhD at the University of Missouri-Columbia. During my graduate training I studied how phototropism is mediated by two key proteins in the pathway - phot1 and NPH3. In the Chory lab I am trying to understand the molecular mechanisms underlying plant plasticity or changes in plant architecture in response to variations in light quality.
Amy Phan Amy Phan
Lab Assistant
aphan@salk.edu
 
Carl Procko Carl Procko
Postdoc
procko@salk.edu
I received my PhD in developmental genetics from the Rockefeller University, New York, in 2011. I joined the Chory lab shortly thereafter as an NIH Fellow. I am interested in how plant architecture is sculpted by its environment. Specifically, I am studying plant growth in response to shade light: which tissues in the plant sense shade, how this information is communicated to other organs, and how the responses of different cell types within the growing organ are coordinated.
Adam Seluzicki Adam Seluzicki
Postdoc
aseluzicki@salk.edu
I received my PhD in neurobiology from Northwestern University and joined the Chory lab in 2014. I am studying how plants collect and integrate signals from environmental light and temperature cycles to regulate developmental processes. My special emphasis is temperature sensing and the circadian clock.
Jenny Tran Jenny Tran
Lab Assistant
jtran@salk.edu
 
Bjorn Willige Bjorn Willige
Postdoc
bwillige@salk.edu
I received my PhD from the Technische Universität München in 2011 and joined the Chory lab in 2013. I am a HFSP fellow and I am studying the effect of canopy shade on plant growth and development.
Jesse Woodson

Jesse Woodson, PhD
Staff Scientist
woodson@salk.edu

Determining the mechanisms of chloroplast-to-nucleus signals that regulate gene expression
Xiaobo Zhao Xiaobo Zhao
Postdoc
xbzhao@salk.edu
I received my PhD from the Huazhong Agricultural University of China in December, 2012 and joined the Chory lab in April, 2013. I am studying the mechanism of chloroplast-to-nucleus signals that regulate nuclear gene expression.
Zuyu Zheng Zuyu Zheng, PhD
Postdoc
zzheng@salk.edu
I received my PhD from Purdue University in 2008 and joined the Chory lab in 2008. I am studying the mechanisms by which plants fine-tune the phytohormone metabolism for adapting their growth and development to the ambient light environments. My special emphasis is auxin metabolic pathways and their impacts on plant responses to shade.